Fédération des Parents du Manitoba

Parents

Why get involved

With Dès le début… en français!, the Fédération des Parents du Manitoba is encouraging families to increase the use of services offered in the Centres de la petite enfance et de la famille (CPEF). Given the incredible potential of early childhood development, there are important benefits to be gained from receiving services in French right from birth.

Early Childhood Potential

Research shows that early childhood is the most important period of development for an individual. It is at this stage that the brain is strongly influenced, fundamental progress takes place from a physical, social, intellectual, emotional and linguistic perspective. At age three, the brain is three times more active than the parent’s!

The critical age for learning to speak being 0 to 2 years, early childhood is crucial for language development. The brains of young children are sponges that absorb vocabulary, grammar and the structure of a language.

Studies show that the activities performed by children of 0 to 6 years – playing, talking, and having fun – mark the overall development of an individual and have an impact that will be felt throughout his or her life. Challenges faced by the health system and society today, such as mental health problems, obesity, heart disease, crime or literacy problems have their roots in early childhood, hence the importance of a good start.

See the benefits section to learn more about using services in French right from the birth of your child.

Benefits

The benefits of using services in French from the time a child is born are numerous and varied.

Language and more

Attending a Centre de la petite enfance et de la famille (CPEF) and participating in its activities helps your child learn French from day one. Remember that the critical age for the introduction of a language is 0 to 2 years.

Between 0 and 6 years, the child not only learns to speak: this period is also critical for physical, social, intellectual and emotional development.

School

In a linguistic minority community, learning French at birth is essential for children to be school-ready. Children who start school being better prepared succeed throughout their lives.

For life

Learning and having fun in French from a young age has positive health effects that will be felt throughout the life of an individual.

In addition, the opportunity to grow and live in French, of belonging to a community and to experience the relationship between language and culture will continue to promote your child’s well-being and mental health.

Finally, being bilingual or multilingual greatly increases opportunities for your child’s future.

Parents

Going to CPEFs offers several advantages not only for children of 0 to 6 years, but also for you, their parents. Among other things, CPEFs provide support to families during pregnancy and throughout the development period of their toddlers.

Equally important, the participation of parents in group activities reduces their isolation, strengthens social ties and gives a sense of belonging to a community. Having access to services in ones own language promotes mental well-being and good health in general.

Society

Receiving services in their own language from birth promotes the healthy, long-term development of individuals. CPEF programs therefore offer benefits to society in general by having balanced and healthy individuals fully contributing economically and socially in their communities.

What can you do?

The objective of Dès le début… en français! is to increase the use of French-language programs and services for francophone children of 0 to 6 years.

We encourage families to take advantage of these services in two ways: by expressing their desire to obtain services in French, and by participating in activities offered by the Centre de la petite enfance et de la famille (CPEF) in their region.

Three suggestions:

  • During pregnancy and after the birth of your child, express to health care providers that you want to communicate in French;
  • Regardless of where you are and what you do, always ask for services in French;
  • Contact the nearest CPEF to learn about existing programs and resources available for you and your child.

To learn about CPEF core services, go to the Programs section! To locate the CPEF in your area, visit the Where to find them section.

If there are no CPEFs in your community, call 1-888-666-8108 and ask how you can benefit from French-language services.

Am I “francophone”?

The CPEFs provide services for francophone families. The word “francophone” is very inclusive. It includes:

  • People whose mother tongue is French
  • Families who speak French at home
  • Families whose history is in part francophone
  • Families where several languages are spoken, of which one is French
  • Families wishing to receive services in French
  • Newcomers who speak French

Follow us

Facebook

Fédération des Parents du Manitoba

Parents

Pourquoi s’impliquer

Avec Dès le début… en français!, la Fédération des Parents du Manitoba encourage les familles à utiliser davantage les services des Centres de la petite enfance et de la famille (CPEF). Il est important de bénéficier de services en français dès la naissance, vu l’incroyable potentiel de développement de l’enfant.

Potentiel de la petite enfance

Les recherches démontrent que la petite enfance est la période de développement la plus importante d’un individu. À ce stade où le cerveau est fortement influencé, des progrès physiques, sociaux, intellectuels, émotionnels et linguistiques fondamentaux ont lieu. À l’âge de trois ans, le cerveau de l’enfant est trois fois plus actif que celui de ses parents!

L’âge critique pour apprendre à parler étant de 0 à 2 ans, la petite enfance est cruciale pour le développement de la langue. Les cerveaux des tout-petits sont des éponges qui absorbent le vocabulaire, ainsi que la grammaire et la construction d’une langue.

Les études prouvent que les activités pratiquées par les enfants de 0 à 6 ans — jouer, parler, s’amuser — marquent le développement global de l’individu, et ce, durant toute sa vie. Des difficultés auxquelles sont confrontés le système de santé et la société d’aujourd’hui, par exemple les troubles de santé mentale, l’obésité, les maladies cardiaques, le crime ou les problèmes de littératie ont leurs racines dans la petite enfance, d’où l’importance d’un bon départ.

Rendez-vous dans la section avantages pour en savoir plus sur l’utilisation de services en français dès la naissance de votre enfant.

Avantages

Les bienfaits d’une utilisation de services en français dès la naissance d’un enfant sont nombreux et variés.

Langage et autres

Fréquenter un Centre de la petite enfance et de la famille (CPEF) et participer à ses activités aident votre enfant à apprendre la langue française dès la naissance. N’oublions pas que l’âge critique pour l’introduction d’une langue est de 0 à 2 ans.

Entre 0 et 6 ans, l’enfant n’apprend pas seulement à parler : cette période est aussi décisive pour son développement physique, social, intellectuel et émotionnel.

École

Dans un contexte minoritaire, l’apprentissage du français dès la naissance est nécessaire pour que les enfants soient prêts pour l’école. Les enfants qui commencent l’école étant bien préparés réussissent mieux tout au long de leur vie.

Pour la vie

Apprendre et s’amuser en français dès un jeune âge ont un effet positif sur la santé qui se fera sentir tout au long de la vie d’un individu.

De plus, la possibilité de grandir et de vivre en français, d’appartenir à une communauté et de vivre la relation spéciale entre langue et culture continuera de favoriser le bien-être et la santé mentale de votre enfant.

Enfin, être bilingue ou multilingue augmente considérablement les possibilités d’avenir de votre enfant.

Parents

Fréquenter un CPEF présente plusieurs avantages pour les enfants de 0 à 6 ans, mais aussi pour vous, leurs parents. Entre autres, le CPEF offre du soutien aux familles durant la période de la grossesse et durant toute la période de développement de leurs tout-petits.

Aussi important, la participation des parents à des activités de groupe réduit leur isolement, renforce leurs liens sociaux et leur donne un sentiment d’appartenance communautaire. Avoir accès à des services dans sa langue favorise le bien-être mental et la bonne santé en général.

Société

Recevoir des services dans sa langue dès la naissance favorise le bon développement des individus à long terme. Les programmes des CPEF offrent donc des avantages à la société en général, des individus équilibrés et en santé jouant un plein rôle économique et social dans leurs communautés.

Que pouvez-vous faire

L’objectif de Dès le début… en français! est d’augmenter l’utilisation des programmes et services en français destinés aux enfants francophones de 0 à 6 ans.

Nous encourageons donc les familles à exprimer leur désir d’obtenir un service en français et à participer aux activités offertes par le Centre de la petite enfance et de la famille (CPEF) de leur région.

Trois suggestions :

  • Durant les périodes de la grossesse et de la naissance de votre enfant, indiquez aux fournisseurs de soins de santé que vous voulez communiquer en français;
  • Peu importe où vous êtes et ce que vous faites, demandez toujours des services en français;
  • Communiquez avec le CPEF le plus près de chez vous pour connaître les programmes et ressources existants pour vous et votre enfant.

Pour connaître les principaux services des CPEF, rendez-vous à la section Programmes. Pour identifier le CPEF de votre région, consultez la section Où les trouver.

S’il n’y a pas de CPEF dans votre communauté, téléphonez au 1-888-666-8108 et demandez comment profiter de services en français.

Suis-je « francophone » ?

Les CPEF offrent des services aux familles francophones. Le mot « francophone » est très inclusif. Il comprend :

  • Les personnes de langue maternelle française
  • Les familles qui parlent le français à la maison
  • Les familles dont l’histoire est en partie francophone
  • Les familles où l’on parle plusieurs langues et dont l’une est le français
  • Les familles désireuses de recevoir des services en français
  • Les nouveaux arrivants qui parlent le français

Suivez-nous

Facebook